top of page

Grief & Loss

Therapy for grief & loss will assist you in moving through the grief work process that is necessary for healthy grieving.  

Common goals often involve support in the four areas:

1. Changing your relationship with your loved one – recognizing they are now gone and developing new ways of relating to them.

2. Developing a new sense of yourself to reflect the many changes that occurred when you lost your loved one.

3. Taking on healthy new ways of being in the world without your loved one.

4. Finding new people, objects, or pursuits in which to put the emotional investment that you once had placed in your relationship with the deceased.  

What is Grief?

Grief refers to the process of experiencing the psychological, social, and physical reactions to your perception of loss.

1. Grief is experienced in each of the three major ways – psychologically (through your feelings, thoughts, and attitudes), socially (through your behavior with others), and physically (through your health and bodily symptoms).

2. Grief is a continuing development, involving many changes over time. It will come and go and appear different at different times.

3. Grief is a natural, expectable reaction. In fact, the absence of it is abnormal in many cases.

4. Grief is a reaction to all kinds of losses, not just death.

5. Grief is based upon your unique, individualistic perception of the loss. It is not necessary for you to have the loss recognized or validated by others for you to experience grief.

bottom of page